A workaround for Dos editor “edit” on Windows 7 SP1 x64 Enterprise Edition

A usual, I even miss the famous dos editor, memories are still fresh. I used this editor even to create simple text files, I configured a simple batch file to execute the command and to open one text file by default in the dos editor, that text file used to be my journal of daily activity, anything popups in the head just type there instantly. This was back in Windows XP, after upgrading to Windows 7 things changed…

I know there are so many editors, notepad by default or the advance editor notepad++ does the fine job, but the missing of this editor kept me kind of empty.

Yesterday, I was reading again on how to get the “edit.com”  file so I can start using again. Luckily, while talking to my friend, he mentioned he has the complete dos installation file… well be lying somewhere around in the portable hard drives. I told him this your top priority task “do search that iso file and let me know… 🙂 “.

Today I got the file, I copied it to the local drive, used WinRAR to open the iso file and extracted it to the folder…. THERE!!! I see you “edit.com”. I copied that to  “d:\msdos” folder and opened the command window in admin mode and typed “d:\msdos\edit.com”, the below window appeared.

1

Now how to fix this? Well.

I started searching the web to see any relevant article, and I found one which helped to fix the problem, well not exactly a fix… but a workaround. Below are the steps I did see and use the “edit.com”. Please note: This is what I did and it does not means that this is the only way or best way, in the end at least I was seeing the editor functioning.

Files you will be needing:
1. MS-DOS installation pack (all files included)
2. DOSBox | DOSBox direct download link for Windows

Without MS-DOS files or just with “edit.com” single file, this is not possible – at least what I know from the tries I did.

1- Availability of all ms-dos files.

2

2- Install DOSBox from the above mentioned link. It is the GUI-base installation with two easy steps. It creates a directory in Program Files (x86) folder, like shown in the below screen. Once this is done, you are almost there.

3

3- Open the CMD window, point to that folder and type “dosbox” (the name of the main executable file) and press enter, it starts normally. (see the next three screen shots)

4

5

6

4- Now the main part, accessing the files from your local drive is mapped by default, so we need to mount the specific path and then associate a drive letter to it and use it, so type the following:

Z:\> mount e d:\msdos

mount- is command used and recognized by dosbox
e- is the drive letter 
<path>- path of the ms-dos files

7

5- Type the drive letter followed by colon to change the drive letter to the new one you just created. I have one more folder with name “msdos” where all the files related to dos are present.

8

9

The first file in the list it the main file to launch the dos editor, now type “edit” in the prompt and press enter key.

10

It opens the editor. Press “Esc” to clear the dialog. The window can be used for typing, and it can be saved to the local drive pointing to the drive letter mentioned in the above point 4.

Some of the sites I referred:

1. Various dos text editors
2. A thread in the Microsoft Community
3. Hidden text editor

 

 

Leave a Reply

